By Thich Nhat Hanh

Book List (from Paralax Press)
Click on a title for more information from Paralax Press

Being Peace

Being Peace is a classic of contemporary religious literature and an excellent introduction to the writings of Thich Nhat Hanh and to engaged Buddhism. Now in its fourteenth printing, with more than 150,000 copies in print, Being Peace continues to be our most widely-read book.

"...a jewel of love and wisdom"--Small Press

Breathe! You Are Alive

"'I am breathing in and making my whole body calm and at peace.'" It is like drinking a cool glass of lemonade on a hot day and feeling your body become cool inside. When you breathe in, the air enters your body and calms all the cells of your body...This is the key to meditation. Breathing brings the sweet joy of meditation to you. You become joyful, fresh, and tolerant, and everyone around you will benefit."--Thich Nhat Hanh

In this new edition of the Buddha's most important and basic teachings on meditation, Thich Nhat Hanh presents three translations of The Sutra on the Full Awareness of Breathing (Anapanasati) from the Pali and the Chinese. In his commentaries, Thich Nhat Hanh outlines the methods of conscious breathing taught by the Buddha and offers exercises for practicing them today. These commentaries give the reader access to the profound nourishment available when we slow down and get in touch with our in-breath and our out-breath.

Along with the Sutra on the Four Establishments of Mindfulness and the Sutra on Knowing the Better Way to Live Alone, the Sutra on the Full Awareness of Breathing is one of the three most essential teachings of the Buddha. See page 29 for the other two volumes.

" indispensable guide for anyone who wishes to nourish themselves with the peace of joy and meditation practice."--Karuna

Diamond That Cuts Through Illusion

The Diamond Sutra illuminates how our minds construct limited categories of thought, offering us alternative ways to look at the world in its wholeness so that we can encounter a deeper reality. Thich Nhat Hanh's translation and commentary offer modern readers ways to develop more harmonious communities, families, and relationships and the ability to act in the world skillfully and effectively.

"Thich Nhat Hanh has translated the Buddhist Diamond Sutra in elegant and simple English."--NAPRA

For A Future To Be Possible

"A beautiful, wise, sensitive book."--Library Journal

The Five Wonderful Precepts--protecting life, acting with generosity, responsible sexual behavior, deep speaking and listening, and avoiding substance abuse--are the basic statement of ethics and morality in Buddhism. Thich Nhat Hanh and 14 prominent coauthors discuss how these precepts can heal our personal lives and the life of our society.


The Fourteen Precepts of the Order of Interbeing are a penetrating expression of traditional Buddhist morality coming to terms with contemporary issues. Interbeing presents these precepts, offering a practical guide for living mindfully. This second edition includes a new introduction updating the development of the worldwide community practicing these precepts and the text of the Charter of the Order of Interbeing.

Our Appointment with Life

This is a translation and commentary by Thich Nhat Hanh on the Sutra on Knowing the Better Way To Live Alone, the earliest teaching of the Buddha on living fully in the present moment.

"Highly recommended because it offers the reader profoundly simple and practical words of ancient and rich Buddhist widsom on the ever-crucial issue of how to be fully alive in the present moment."--Seeds of Peace Magazine

Peace Is Every Step

This beautifully designed book begins with detailed instruction in conscious breathing and awareness of the small acts of our daily lives, and goes on to show how practicing mindfulness helps us transform and heal difficult psychological states. It concludes with an exploration of the connection between inner peace and peace in the world. From Bantam Books.

"This book not only teaches mindfulness, it also exemplifies and induces it. Subtle and extremely effective."--San Francisco Chronicle

Present Moment Wonderful Moment

Present Moment Wonderful Moment is an inspiring handbook of gathas, or "mindfulness poems." Reading these poetic yet practical verses can help us slow down and enjoy each moment of our lives. There are verses for waking up to "24 brand new hours," taking a shower, answering the telephone, and starting the car. After each verse, Thich Nhat Hanh offers reflections on it, with insights into the issues of our day.

"This small volume--simply and unassumingly wise--is a true miracle that gently reminds us who we are and what we are doing... a subtle ballast that settles our racing minds and transports the mundane into the spiritual."--East/West Journal

The Heart of Understanding

An excellent translation and explanation of this core Buddhist text. The Heart Sutra is one of the most important and subtle sutras, conveying the deepest level of understanding.

"Exquisite teaching... as sweet and simple and powerful as it gets. Strongly recommended to one and all."--Inquiring Mind

The Miracle of Mindfulness

The Miracle of Mindfulness is universally recognized as one of the classic introductory manuals on meditation, concentration, and relaxation. It is at once practical and inspirational. Originally written as a long letter to a friend, The Miracle of Mindfulness retains an intimate, personal tone. From Beacon Press.

"One of the best available introductions to the wisdom and beauty of meditation practice."--New Age Journal

"... jewel of clarity, wisdom and practicality. Its gift is the transformation of 'everyday' life into an experience of joy, peace and wonder."--Joan Borysenko

The Sun My Heart

In this sequel to The Miracle of Mindfulness, Thich Nhat Hanh draws on psychology, philosophy, and contemporary physics, as well as a host of anecdotes, to explore teachings on meditation and interdependence. Rooted in Buddhist philosophy, The Sun My Heart is at once an intellectual adventure and an inspiration to practice.

"The book offers great dharma--as sweet and simple and powerful as it gets."--Inquiring Mind Journal

Thundering Silence

In Thundering Silence, Thich Nhat Hanh presents the early teachings of the Buddha on how to see reality clearly without becoming caught by notions and ideologies, however noble. These teachings can liberate us from the prisons of our mental constructions and allow us to enjoy life fully and be a resource for others. The attitude of playfulness, openness, and non-attachment from views by the Buddha in this sutra is an important door for us to enter the realm of Buddhist thought and practice.

Touching Peace

"This book gives specific, practical instructions on extending our meditation practice into our daily lives and relationships. With his inimitable blend of simplicity and profundity, Nhat Hanh helps us look deeply into and transform the roots of violence, war, alcoholism, and family strife."--Yoga Journal

In this sequel to Being Peace, Thich Nhat Hanh continues his teachings on practicing peace in everyday life and shows us how mindful awareness can help us see the roots of war, violence, substance abuse, and social alienation. He concludes with his compelling vision for rebuilding society.

Transformation and Healing

Mindfulness is the most basic meditation practice--awareness of what is going on in the body, the feelings, the mind, and the world. Nhat Hanh presents three versions of the sutra and explores the psychological implications of these teachings.

"If you were to possess only one book on how to fare through this human existence with joy and self-knowledge, it should be this text."--Karuna Journal